Thoughts

2015.

I struggled real hard to find the right words to say to recap one of the most adventurous years I’ve had. Yet every time I wrote a sentence, re-organized it, tried to pick the perfect pictures, captions, etc. nothing seemed to do it justice. There are so many things I would like to say and write about this year, some that I’ve already written about, so excuse the word vomit you are about to read.

I’m a 23 year old who loves her job (so far anyway *insert wink face here*). I travelled to 7 countries this year. I started my year in Malaysia and went back there again. I had the extreme pleasure of travelling to Thailand with two of my best friends. I fell in love with the mountains in Alberta. My parents took me on the European trip of a lifetime. I saw the Bills beat the Dolphins in Buffalo. I attended more concerts than I can count and even secured a job that pays me to run them. I met my favourite band and I discovered so many more. I had my heart broken. I finally learned how to use eyeshadow. I moved in with my best friend and we got matching tattoos. I lived my grade 7 dream of living with Jen and Kelly (even if it was for just one night). I took Uber for the first time. I made it to the aquarium downtown. I finally started volunteering with War Child. I made friends and I lost friends. I threw Debchella 2k15 (yes, that’s what we’re calling it…). I FINALLY saw (and will be old enough to remember) the Toronto Blue Jays making the playoffs. I checked numerous things off my bucket list including: attend an NFL game; attend a Toronto Maple Leafs game; meet Taking Back Sunday (in it’s entirety); and play an open mic night. I severely scraped up my knee…

The list is endless.

I learned many things about myself, life and relationships. I’ve learned that you can’t make someone love you if they don’t. I’ve learned not to chase people. The people who want to stay in your life will always find a way. I’ve learned I have the best friends in the world who always have my back and I’ve learned that I have the best parents in the world. This year I learned that you have to spend as much time with your loved ones when possible. I chose to travel to Malaysia instead of Cambodia to visit my relatives and I do not regret it for a single second. I had the amazing opportunity to spend one last trip with aunt who recently lost her battle with cancer.

I also caught a major travel bug.

So thank you – if you’ve shaped my year in any way, good or bad, thank you for the part you played in this adventurous year. Even though I didn’t get to see a flux capacitor this year it was still spectacular.

Here’s to the year that lies ahead.

“Your future is whatever you make it, so make it a good one.”

12463900_10153134422862493_1197612582_n

Peace out 2015, it’s been a slice.

Standard

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

