Travel

Lucerne

October 20-21, 2015

October 20

The bus ride to Switzerland took all day. The trip was a total of 667.3 km (according to Google Maps). Travelling on The Love Bus, we made a couple stops along the way.

On the ride into the city Brendon described to us more about The Swiss. According to him, every single man is required to train for the Swiss Guard. The country is known as ‘neutral’ and must have the man-power to defend itself. He also described the country as meticulous – especially when it comes to portion control. We were told our meals would be carefully measured to ensure each portion was perfect and equal. The soap was to be measured for “one shower portion” and would disintegrate after we were finished. I wish I could describe it as well and comical as Brendon did. I assure you it was funnier than I’m describing now…

The area where we were dropped off was full of shops, tourists and chocolate. I’m 100% sure we were in tourist central because the shopkeepers spoke more Mandarin than English…and tried to talk to me in Mandarin… The shopkeepers seemed overwhelmed yet prepared for the crowds.

After losing both of my parents I roamed around the streets of Lucerne and found some cute unique vintage stores. As I’ve said in past posts and will continue to say, I wish I had more time to explore.

On our walking tour of the town we saw The Lion Monument. The dying lion commemorates the Swiss Guard who were killed during the French Revolution, however, if you look carefully you can see a pig surrounding the statue – apparently the sculptor was underpaid and sculpted a pig around the lion in revenge. Mark Twain has described the status as “the most mournful and moving piece of stone in the world.”

IMG_1153

Lion of Lucerne

I expected our hotel room to be super tiny and only full of necessities (thanks to Brendon), however, our room was decently large. A double bed and a single for our family was perfect for one night’s sleep.

Back at home in Canada, Justin Trudeau was voted Prime Minister and all that BBC News could play was Justin Trudeau vs. Justin Bieber … so strange.

1960308_10153116304992493_2365537_n

IMG_3847

Our perfectly portioned and delicious meal.

October 21

Back to the Future Day. I obviously brought my shirt to wear.

Our ride up to the Swiss Alps was on the world’s first open-air cable car, Cabrio. Because the mountains are so high, we had to take a train to get to the cable car. It was really surreal to see all of Lucerne slowly disappear into the clouds as we got closer and closer to the top.

IMG_1159

IMG_1162

I'm in love with the mountains. | #Switzerland #RootsIsCanada #wanDEBlust

A post shared by Deb Lam (@adventurelam) on

IMG_1240

Happy Back to the Future Day

The view was absolutely spectacular and reminded me of my trip up Sulfur Mountain in Banff. Our tour group was the first up the mountain and just like Banff, after arriving at the top, there was an option to climb even higher up the mountain. I was the first one up the mountain and had the view all to myself for a couple of minutes. Top 5 favourite moment of the trip.

Climbing up the mountain was difficult not only because I’m severely out of shape, but also the air pressure and cold weather. It was definitely worth the snot.

At the top of the mountain everything seems like a painting. Nothing seems real and your problems seem insignificant.

IMG_1206

IMG_1253

IMG_1261

Literally in the clouds.

I bought Swiss Toblerone bar at the gift shop of Mount Stanserhorn and it definitely seemed to taste better.

IMG_3891

IMG_3890

The way down was just as breathtaking but sad because I was leaving the mountains. It also seemed a lot faster than the ride up (as every journey is).

It was time for a quick pee and then another long, long journey as we made our way to Venice…

Standard

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

